Hill Firm

Blog

Your top of mind legal questions, answered.

What Are the Legal Penalties for Domestic Violence Charges?

bigstock-Domestic-Violence-Law-On-A-Woo-225168304.jpg

Domestic violence charges can result in serious penalties, including huge fines and lengthy jail time.

Read on to find out more about laws and sentencing for domestic violence charges.

What Is the Definition of Domestic Violence?

Domestic violence charges cover more than just those inflicted by or upon a spouse or partner. A domestic violence charge, whether misdemeanor or felony, can be an act of violence perpetrated against any family member, partner, housemate or spouse.

According to The National Domestic Violence Helpline, domestic violence is defined by several key behaviors. These include behaviors that may cause physical or emotional harm, arouse fear, limit or eliminate another's free will, or force someone to do something against their will.

Domestic violence can be perpetrated by, or against, anyone of any orientation, race, gender or age. It is important to understand what constitutes domestic violence before proceeding.

What Are the Legal Penalties for Domestic Violence Charges?

The penalties for domestic violence charges vary by the type and severity of the crime as well as by state. There are two broad categories of domestic violence that each carries its own set of penalties.

Misdemeanor domestic violence typically covers small-scale assault and battery charges or domestic disputes. The misdemeanor charge can be levied against individuals found guilty of verbal as well as physical abuse. It can, however, be elevated to a felony charge if it is a second or third offense.

Felony domestic violence is a charge imposed in cases that result in serious bodily harm or the death of an individual. It is also applicable in cases where a child or minor has been the victim of violence. Any acts involving a deadly weapon or illegal sexual behavior are also considered a felony.

Below we have compiled a list of the maximum legal penalties imposed in domestic violence cases. These penalties may still vary by state and severity.

Misdemeanor Penalties

In the state of Nevada, the maximum penalty for Battery Domestic Violence (BDV) (NRS 200.485) is a fine anywhere between $200 and $1,000. This is coupled with 48 - 120 hours of community service and the compulsory attendance of 6 - 12 months of weekly counseling.

Jail time in misdemeanor cases is uncommon. With that said, the penalties are liable to increase in cases where it is not the first offense. The nature of the crime can be upgraded to a felony, which then carries the threat of more serious punishments.

Felony Penalties

Depending on the nature of the felony, fines in the state of Nevada can range from $200 up to $15,000. This fine is applicable in felony cases and can go hand-in-hand with a lengthy jail sentence.

The jail time, also dependent on the severity of the crime, can range from 2 days to 10 years. The longer jail sentences are typically reserved for more serious domestic crimes. These include crimes with a deadly weapon, those that include strangulation or child endangerment or those that result in serious injury or death.

Who Can I Speak to for Advice?

If you are looking for legal advice then you will need to speak with a lawyer specializing in criminal defense.

We understand the severity and life changing ramifications that come along with domestic violence charges. To get the best defense and outcome for you case contact The Hill Firm at 702-848-5000 for a free consultation today!

Ask about the special financing options available through our EasyRetainer® program.


Dan Hill