Standard Penalties For Getting A DUI In Las Vegas
If arrested for a DUI, the potential penalties vary greatly depending on many factors, such as if there are any previous DUIs on record, or if any injuries occurred as a result of the DUI.
Here are some common penalties, if convicted of a DUI:
First-Time DUI Standard Penalties
The penalties received from a first-time DUI offense can vary, but they can include:
- Jail time ranging from two days to up to six months incarceration;
- DUI school or a qualified alcohol awareness program;
- Payment of fines ranging from $400 to $1,000, plus court costs;
- Participation and attendance in a Victim Impact Panel;
- If under the age of twenty-one or if blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.18 or higher, completion of an alcohol/drug dependency evaluation plus costs;
- If the BAC was higher than 0.18, one may also be required to complete a drug and alcohol abuse treatment program;
- If the BAC was higher than 0.18, one may also be required to install a Nevada Breath Interlock Device in the car for a period of 12 months to 36 months; and
- The possibility of a 90-day driver’s license suspension on top of a civil penalty fee.
The penalties issued can be a combination of any of the above, depending on the facts and circumstances of the case.
If the BAC is high and other factors played into the arrest, it is quite possible that more penalties will be imposed. An attorney can negotiate a case based on its unique facts.
Second-Time Standard DUI Penalties
If facing a second DUI arrest, the potential penalties are more serious. They can include a combination of the following:
- Jail time up to six months or residential confinement;
- Fines ranging from $750 to $1,000 or equivalent community service;
- Attendance and participation in a Victim Impact Panel;
- Completion of a drug and alcohol dependency evaluation;
- Revocation of driver’s license or suspension for up to one year, as well as a five-day registration suspension and $35 civil penalty fee;
- Completion of DUI Court alcohol or drug abuse treatment program; and
- If the BAC was over 0.18, you may be required to install a Nevada Breath Interlock Device in the car for a period of 12 months to 36 months. Many times, this option is used in lieu of suspending the your driver’s license if you need it for specific reasons, such as getting to and from work.
Third-Time DUI Standard Penalties
The more times an individual faces a DUI charge, the harsher the penalties can become. After two DUIs, subsequent DUIs can become felony charges. Penalties for a third DUI can include:
- Imprisonment for one year to six years;
- Fines ranging from $2,000 to $5,000;
- Participation in a Victim Impact Panel;
- Installation of a Breath Interlock Device on the car following release from incarceration for a period of 12 months to 36 months;
- A three-year-long driver’s license suspension or revocation, a five-day registration suspension and a $35 civil penalty fine; and/or
- Completion of a drug and alcohol evaluation and accompanying program.
Penalties If Injury Or Death Results From DUI
If a DUI causes serious injury or results in a death, no matter if it is a first offense or third, the case goes to a Category B felony.
The punishment increases to incarceration from two years to 20 years with fines going up to $5,000.
Vehicular homicide is charged when the defendant’s intoxicated driving results in a fatality and the defendant has three previous DUI convictions.
The felony level goes up to a Category A and includes twenty-five years in prison or even life sentence with possibility of parole after ten years.
Contact Us Today
If you have been arrested for a DUI, it is important you contact Hill Firm today. We can meet with you to discuss your rights and all potential legal defenses. Contact us today at for your (702) 848-5000free consultation.